20170526_204132.jpgMy family suggested I find a four-legged ‘best friend’ as the house was very empty after our two sight hounds went to live with my ex. I thought this would be impossible, due to working 5 days a week, but my boss said an ‘office dog’ was just what I needed. I didn’t want a little dog and wanted a breed that would love to be out and about but also calm when in the office. Years ago, I’d always wanted a greyhound but I fostered and rehomed ferral cats for a local charity, so unfortunately it wasn’t an option.

I asked my boss if a big dog would be okay to bring to work and she said a greyhound would be fine!

I started looking at rescue sites and Greyhound Rescue Wales kept coming up. All those adorable faces flicking up on my PC screen, all wanting to be loved, with an emotional piece written about each dog made my decision. GRW cared that the correct family was found for the dog, not the other way around.

I was asked if I’d consider a black dog… apparently these are harder to rehome! So black was my choice!

my-girl.jpg

When I got a phone call from Sandra Wynne (Hillcrest’s sanctury manager) saying she had a dog in mind, who she thought would be perfect for me, I was over the moon. Maggie (then known as Marjorie) hadn’t settled well at Hillcrest, so had been living with a foster carer to help with her transition to a life that most dogs grow up with.

Maggie was nearly five when she finished her racing career with over 99 races – her last race was in Feb 2016 and I believe she went to GRW in spring 2016.

I’d been told she was shy (a bit standoffish until she knew you) and this was true and sad that this beautiful girl was like this due to her past.

20170526_220537

She has blossomed in the seven months I’ve had her. For example, she’s learnt how to climb stairs, but has to circle three times at the bottom before going up. Her best friend is my daughter’s one year old corgi, who has taught Maggie (or Maggie Moo or Moo Moo as I call her, lol) how to play, how to chase and how to be a dog, not a money earning machine.

It’s taking Maggie a long time to build trust and friendships with my friends, and she’s very wary of men, especially if they are ‘larger’. It is heartbreaking to see her hide behind me, but we’ll get there when Maggie is ready.

20170531_181513.jpg

Maggie is now good with horses when I take her to the yard where I keep them and she’s lucky that we are allowed to use the fields for secure off-lead running.

She still has lots of issues but everyday there’s a little breakthrough.  I have to admit, I cried the first time she awkwardly climbed on the sofa and put her head on my lap and went to sleep; it was such a huge step for my anxious girl.

Maggie has made such a difference to my life (as I suffer with depression and anxiety) and she’s made life fun again. My life is no longer empty and seeing the changes in her behaviour is brilliant. She makes me smile and laugh every day and is a dab paw at wooden treat puzzles.

Adopting Maggie has been one of the most rewarding two-way experience that I have had. Every single day brings new pleasures.

I love my shy loving dustbin with her deadly whippy tail.

first-trip-to-beach.jpg

