GRW-LOGO

On Saturday, I attended the Greyhound Rescue Wales Last Hope Spring Fayre in St Athan, where I had a stall to promote the publication of my latest novel, Summer at Conwenna Cove.

The fayre was held to raise funds for Last Hope dogs. Last Hope was a greyhound found left for dead, badly injured and with both ears cut off, on a mountainside in the Rhymney Valley in South Wales. He was discovered lying on rubbish with a hole in his forehead, on 2 May 2004, and was later humanely destroyed. Greyhound Rescue Wales set up the ‘Last Hope Fund’ and holds an annual sponsored walk to raise money for it. This year, they held the spring fayre too. The money raised has been used to rescue, treat and rehome greyhounds or lurchers for whom the only other option would have been euthanasia. Therefore, this fund is extremely important.

thumb_13336006_1745156185766906_5997431835736258807_n_1024

As a greyhound mum, I care a great deal about these beautiful, gentle creatures. I adopted my girl, Freya, from Greyhound Rescue Wales, and the rescue sanctuary in the novel is based on Hillcrest in Ammanford, where Freya came from. The employees and volunteers of GRW work tirelessly to care for the hounds and they deserve recognition for the wonderful work they do.

 

Gabe is the name of a real, and much loved, greyhound. He very sadly had to be put to sleep last year. I heard his story when I was writing the novel, and asked his owners if I could use his name. Therefore, Gabe’s name is significant for his owners and for all those who knew him. Summer at Conwenna Cove is dedicated to my girl, Freya, and to the real Gabe.

FullSizeRender
Me at the spring fayre with some of the postcards featuring the gorgeous cover for Summer at Conwenna Cove.

 

To ensure that the greyhound details in the story were accurate, I contacted some of the very helpful people at Greyhound Rescue Wales, for their greyhound stories and advice. I wanted to portray Gabe and the other sighthounds in a realistic and compassionate way, and I hope that I have achieved that.

 

My publisher, Canelo, had a beautiful cover designed for the novel and it features Conwenna Cove and also a greyhound. The cover and the story have received some wonderful comments and I’m delighted that readers are enjoying the book.

If you’d like to read more about Greyhound Rescue Wales, then you can find them here. They’re always grateful for donations because it helps them to keep on saving sighthounds.

_AP07778
Me with Freya wearing the beautiful fleece she won – from Emma Byrne at The Felted Badger – for reserve best in show.

 

If you enjoy Summer at Conwenna Cove, you can return there this autumn, because I’m currently working on Christmas at Conwenna Cove. I’m very excited about this story and hope you will be too.

 

Have a fabulous week!

Darcie Xx

 

SACC1

 

 

 

 

 

