33699163

Wendy Holdenโ€™s Laura Lake and the Hipster Weddings is a fabulous laugh-out-loud romp of a story. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it and look forward to the next book in The Laura Lake series.

At times, as Laura Lake lurches from one escapade to the next, I felt that I was holding my breath! Thank goodness for the dashing reporter Harry Scott, who has impeccable timing! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I must admit though, I do not want to try their version of rose wineโ€ฆ

Laura is an adorable character and I just wanted her to succeed in following her dreams. Sheโ€™s so sweet, determined and adaptable. The other characters are also deliciously described, from Lauraโ€™s French grandmother Mimi โ€“ with her fascinating advice about everything from fashion to positive mental attitude โ€“ to her new eccentric and fashionable friend, Lulu. Yes, there are some stereotypes, but thatโ€™s part of the fun and displays Ms Holdenโ€™s wit and sparkly sense of humour.

The book also made me long to visit Paris because of the beautiful moving descriptions that seemed to come right from Lauraโ€™s (and possibly Ms Holdenโ€™s) heart.

The three weddings are delightful and provide some very funny moments. My favourite was at the castle and involved naked flames and eyebrows. Iโ€™ll let you read it to find out what happens but it made me chuckle.

Read this novel for pure giggle-a-minute escapism with a deep and sweet underlying warmth.

 

FIVE FABULOUS STARS

*****

Links:

AMAZON UK

AMAZON.COM

WENDY HOLDEN

 

