Today I am delighted to welcome the fabulous Helen Rolfe to my blog to celebrate the publication of The Summer of New Beginnings.

The Summer of New Beginnings KDP cover

Tell us a little about yourself and your background.

 I write contemporary women’s fiction with an emphasis on relationships and love. I enjoy weaving stories about family, friendship, secrets, and characters who face challenges and fight to overcome them. My stories tend to include some serious issues, but my books always have a happy ending.

I lived in Australia for 14 years and so some of my novels are set there, combining real and fictitious places. I’ve also set books in New York and the one I’m working on right now is set in Bath, UK, another beautiful city where we lived for 9 months.

 Why did you want to become a writer?

I always loved reading and writing but didn’t think about it as a career choice for a long while. In 2003 I left my I.T. job and began freelancing for women’s magazines, I studied journalism and then in 2010 I began thinking about writing a novel.

Tell us a bit about your recent release.

The Summer of New Beginnings is up for preorder and will be released 4th April 2017!

They say trouble comes in threes…

Headstrong and organised, Mia is a single mum who wants to fix the world – but the one thing she can’t fix is her family. Responsible older brother Will has fled Primrose Bay, unable to forgive and forget after the ultimate betrayal. And Jasmine, no longer the wayward baby sister, is determined to prove to her brother and sister that she’s just as capable as they are.

Together in the bay after years apart and a separation spanning three continents, it doesn’t take long for the siblings to clash when Mia calls everyone together in a family crisis. And with jealousy and resentment simmering between them, as well as faces from the past and new loves, the family ties could end up being severed forever.

Sometimes we need to lose ourselves in order to find each other again…

Where do the your ideas come from? / What was the inspiration to write your most recent book?

My ideas come from everywhere, the people around me, events that happen here and abroad, or they’ll strike, most annoyingly, as I’m drifting off to sleep! Quite often the overall book idea is a combination of a couple of smaller ideas, which is always fun to work with.

How much research do you do? / How do you research?

I do a lot of research. When I studied a Masters in Writing – I never finished it because I started writing novels! – one of the units was Research for Writers and I enjoyed it a lot.

I usually map out my idea and then research until I think I’ve got enough information, then I can plot some more and finally tackle the first draft.

Plotter or pantser? – Do you work to an outline or plot or do you prefer just see where an idea takes you?

Bit of both! I think it’s important to have a rough idea of where you’re going but then to stay flexible and see where the book and characters take you.

What’s the most enjoyable part of writing?

I love all of it! But I’m not keen on all the promotion I have to do.

Do you ever get writer’s block? If so, how do you get through it?

I usually find going out for a walk or taking a break helps.

You’re hosting a literary dinner party, which five authors/celebs would you invite? (alive or dead)

Lianne Moriarty – so I can ask her about plotting!

Judy Blume – her books were such a good influence growing up.

Jane Green – because I love her books

Maeve Binchy – because her writing was simply beautiful

Nora Roberts – because the woman is awesome!

What are you reading at the moment?

I’m reading Nicholas Sparks’ See Me

FOR FUN

If you had a superpower, what would it be?

The power to heal

Where is one place you want to visit that you haven’t been before?

New York…I’m determined to get there this year or next!

Do you have any scars? What are they from?

A few on my jawline although thankfully they’ve faded. They were from a pretty serious car accident when I was 23.

How can readers discover more about you and your work?

Website

Facebook

Twitter

Amazon Author Page

Book Links

UK

US

HelenJRolfe

