Fantasy Cast List for Cloudy

images

I thought it would be fun to write a fantasy cast list for Cloudy with a Chance of Love, and ‘fantasy’ is definitely the right word! Isn’t it every writer’s dream to have their book made into a film? It certainly is mine (I’ve had a premiere outfit lined up for some time, just in case, although I still need to get the shoes…). At the same time, though, I’m kind of reluctant to assign actual actors – with actual faces and voices – to my characters. They are my characters – I can see them in my head and I know how they should sound; I’m a tad precious about them, I’m afraid. I certainly don’t write with the faces of actors and actresses in mind, so it’s hard for me to choose who I will let be the people in my book… whoever I do choose, these actors better be good!

Okay, I’m going to give it a go.

Daryl: She would be the hardest to cast, the hardest for me to hand over to someone else, as I can see her so clearly in my head. The actress would need to capture both Daryl’s spirit and her vulnerability. I’d like a dash of (and I’m dipping into both sides of the pond, if I may…) Drew Barrymore, Olivia Coleman and Naomi Watts. A soupcon of Kate Winslet, Amanda Redman and Lesley Mann. Perhaps I could call upon Sandra Bullock, or Elizabeth Banks, or Cate Blanchett? No, nobody is quite right… You know, I don’t think I can cast her, after all – Daryl may have to remain in my head, and the heads of readers, for now…until Hollywood comes calling, of course…

Will: Ooh, this is another hard one to call! He has to be gorgeous; dark hair, brown eyes mid-to-late-forties…I love Matt Dillon, he could make a stab at it…or maybe Greg Wise, Emma Thompson’s very handsome husband and Willoughby in the movie Sense and Sensibility (I stood next to him once, when I was an extra on a TV show – the man is sublime). Or perhaps Orlando Bloom? Hmm, again, I’m not sure anyone can do Will justice, actually, how he is in my mind and on the page. Can I leave him there? Can I leave him to my, and the readers’, imagination? Alternatively, perhaps producers could do a nationwide casting call, with me sitting in on auditions…

Sam: Okay, she’s a bit easier to cast. She’s sporty, fit, tall… I’m thinking Jennifer Garner, with a really good English accent?

Peony: Oh, Peony’s lovely, so how about a blonde-d Emily Blunt? Or Sienna Miller, or Margo Robbie, because I have a massive girl crush on her and I could hang around the set, and bring her Sherbet Dib Dabs and stuff…

Ben: He has a cheeky face, blonde, curly hair…he’s an outdoorsy type…I see him as a young Robert Redford (from The Way We Were days… mmm…why didn’t I write Ben as a man in white military uniform?). Or, who was that guy in The Devil Wears Prada, the one Andi sleeps with in Paris, Simon Baker? He’s nice… I’m off to google nice-looking men with blond, curly hair…Ooh, how about Jude Law? He’d be good. And I’ve just remembered I LOVE Owen Wilson…perhaps I should have written Ben as an affable American with a Texan drawl…

Dex: Ooh Dex. Dex would be quite easy to cast: a sexy, very good-looking slightly older man. There could be several contenders for this role. Richard Gere, Hugh Grant, Colin Firth, playing against type… But could I please have (a slightly younger) Pierce Brosnan. Permanently? Perhaps living at the bottom of the garden, in a caravan?

Mum and Auntie Margaret: This pair would have to be Julie Walters and Anne Reid – I could see a little Dinnerladies action going on with these two. And when they’re on set I’ll ask them loads of questions about the late, great Victoria Wood and get all their anecdotes about working with her.

Gabby: Well, Gabby once wanted people to call her Elle, at school, and is tall and willowy and wears gilets and skinny jeans. So Elle Macpherson, please, if she’s doing any acting these days (she was good in Friends, right?). Yes, I’m booking Elle…she’s in. I can quiz her on all her beauty secrets…

Jeff: I need somebody tall, with glasses…. and dark hair. I’m off to Google again… This is fun! I’m suddenly wishing I’d written a character I could cast the sublime Jeff Goldblum as…or Tom Selleck…I’ve missed a trick here, haven’t I…? My next book will be about a kooky, charismatic scientist and a sexy American with a moustache and a rumbling voice…

Oh dear. I’ve just read this back and it appears I generally just want to cast people that I fancy! How shallow!

Ahem. Carry on. And see you at the premiere.

 

 

 

