FullSizeRender

One of the things I love about summer is that I have six weeks off work – the day job that pays the bills that is. I’ve still been writing, trying to complete my latest WIP, but I am also enjoying these glorious weeks of freedom. My normal working weeks during term time run efficiently and at break-neck speed if I’m honest; everything has a time and a place and it has to be done at that time or things will fall apart. However, when the summer comes, I have the chance to be me again, to let things drift a little; to rest, relax and catch up with all the things I love doing. Such as… reading!

I’ve always been a voracious reader and I love all genres but women’s fiction, sweeping historicals about actual people (especially the Tudors – even when subjected to the artistic licence of the author) and thrillers are my favourites.

So today, I want to recommend two thrillers I’ve read in the past fortnight :  The Fire Child by S.K. Tremayne and The Swimming Pool by Louise Candlish.

IMG_8024

 

The Fire Child is a heart-pounding, nail-biting chiller that follows one woman’s descent into devastation. I’m not going to go into detail about the story because you can read it yourself for that, but I will say that this story had my heart beating faster on more than one occasion. If you like to be scared, then this is a perfect read for you! (I enjoyed The Ice Twins and this was a fabulous second novel from S.K. Tremayne.)

 

IMG_7995Louise Candlish’s The Swimming Pool was absolutely gripping and deliciously dark. In some ways I identified with the main character – because she’s a teacher, she’s the mother of a thirteen year old and because of some of her thoughts about ageing and life in general – but in others, she shocked and appalled me. At times, I empathised with her, at others I pitied her, and on a few occasions, I wanted to shake her or at least have a stern word in her ear. When a book gets to me like that, I know it’s GOOD! Even when I wasn’t reading The Swimming Pool, I was thinking about the characters and the storyline, and they will certainly stay with me for some time. If you want a novel that creates a sense of the delicious freedom of summer, and that builds to a captivating crescendo, then grab a copy of this and you will not be disappointed! I definitely want to read more of Ms Candlish’s novels now.

 

I have two bookshelves bursting with unread novels, as well as a Kindle full, and that makes me very happy indeed! I’m not sure which one will be next, but if I love it, I’ll certainly share it.

 

Have a fabulous week!

Darcie X

