The Bones of YouThe Bones of You by Debbie Howells
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I loved this book! I’ve been reading a lot of thrillers lately (because my wonderful husband keeps buying them for me whenever he goes shopping) and The Bones of You really got to me. It was beautifully written with many references to nature and the connection between humans and animals. I was able to identify with central character Kate’s love of horses and with her awe at how intuitive they are.
I really enjoyed how the author gave me an insight into different characters in the novel by mixing perspectives. Ms Howells has a lovely clear author voice that pulled me right into the story. The Bones of You is engaging, exciting, thrilling, heart-breaking and enchanting, as the reader is guided through a tragedy that every parent hopes and prays they’ll never have to deal with.
I thought that the characters were well fleshed out and the way that Debbie Howells slowly revealed them was very clever and showed her skills as an author. Nobody is perfect, life is not black and white; there are shades between, and everyone has secrets and thoughts they’d prefer not to share.
I am certainly looking forward to reading Ms Howells’ next book.

View all my reviews

